Colleges and Universities Offering PhD in Physics in Kenya

  • Course Name: PhD in Physics(Physics)
  • Major Subject: Physics
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering PhD in Physics

  • University of Nairobi University of Nairobi, Nairobi  
    Admission Requirements:
    The following shall be eligible to apply for registration for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Physics in the University: - either

    A holder of a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in physics or equivalent from the University of Nairobi or equivalent academic qualifications from another institution recognized by the University of Nairobi Senate as of comparable status.

    In either case, the applicant must be able to produce evidence, to the satisfaction of Senate, of his capacity to carry out original research.

    In addition to producing evidence of eligibility for registration, candidates for the Doctor of Philosophy degree may be required to appear for interview by the Faculty/Institute/School/Centre concerned to determine their suitability for registration.
  • Egerton University Egerton University, Nakuru  
    Course entry requirements:
    Applicants must:
    a) Have appropriate preparatory academic training as evidenced by at least one of the following:
    -Be a holder of a Master's Degree of Egerton University
    -Be a holder of a Master's Degree or an equivalent academic qualification of any other recognized institution.
    -Be a candidate enrolled for a Master's Degree in Egerton University for at least one year who has to the satisfaction of the Senate shown exceptional progress in the Research Work to merit upgrading.
    -Be a holder of a Bachelor's Degree whom the Senate has specially exempted from the Master's programme.

    b) Fulfill specific requirements as maybe stipulated by respective Department, Faculty/School/Institute/Campus with regard to the field of study
  • Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University for Science and Technology Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University for Science and Technology, Bondo  
    Course entry requirements:
    a) Holders of at least a Masters degree from Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology in a relevant field.


    b) Holders of relevant Masters degree of any other accredited Institution in a relevant field.

    c) In addition to the above, applicants must meet the specific requirements of the Doctoral degree programme as approved by the Senate.

    Course duration: 3 years
  • Maseno University Maseno University, Maseno  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) Holders of a Masters degree of Maseno University in the relevant field, or

    (ii) Holders of a relevant Masters degree of any other University recognized by the Commission for University Education.

    (iii) In addition to the above, the applicant must meet the specific requirements of the Doctoral degree programme as approved by Senate.
  • Kenyatta University  Kenyatta University , Nairobi  
    Specialization options:
    -Environmental Physics
    -Theoretical Atomic Collisions Physics

    Course entry requirements:
    -Master of Science Degree (Physics) OR Master of Science (Electronics and Instrumentation)

    Mode of study: Regular-Full Time

    Intake: September
  • University of Eldoret University of Eldoret, Eldoret  
    1. Theoretical Physics,
    2. Nuclear,
    3. Materials Science,
    4. Physics
    5. Renewable Energy

    Minimum entry requirements:
    -Master of Philosophy in relevant or related discipline from University of Eldoret or its equivalent from recognized universities.
  • Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology, Nairobi  
    Admission requirements

    -Applicants must be holders of a M.Sc. degree in Physics in one of the above areas of specialization.

    -Have a qualification acceptable by the university senate as equivalent to M.Sc. in Physics and must have a research proposal.
  • South Eastern Kenya University South Eastern Kenya University, Kitui  
    Course entry requirements:
    -A relevant Master’s degree of South Eastern Kenya University or any other recognised university, or other qualifications considered by University Senate as equivalent to a relevant Master’s degree
  • Kisii University Kisii University, Kisii.  
    Course entry requirements:
    Master’s degree in relevant field or its equivalent from a recognized university/institution

    Course duration: 3 years

    Mode of study: Part time
  • Technical University of Kenya Technical University of Kenya, Nairobi  
    Course entry requirements:
    -A holder of a Master’s degree in any relevant field of Physics A holder of a Master’s degree in Physics

    Course duration: 3 years
  • Maasai Mara University Maasai Mara University, Narok  
    Minimum entry requirements:
    - Master's Degree with Second Class Honors Upper Division or Second Class Lower Division.
  • University of Embu University of Embu, Embu  
    MINIMUM ENTRY REQUIREMENTS: Masters in relevant area
  • Pwani University Pwani University, Kilifi  
  • Moi University Moi University, Eldoret  
  • Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology, Kakamega  

More Doctorate Courses in Kenya

View all courses in Kenya

Find the best institute for yourself!

We need a few details from you so as to suggest relevant institutes