Colleges and Universities Offering Master of Science in Agriculture in South Africa

  • Course Name: Master of Science in Agriculture(Agriculture)
  • Major Subject: Agriculture
  • Course Category: Masters Courses

Institutions Offering Master of Science in Agriculture

  • University of Stellenbosch University of Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch  
    Specific Admission Requirements:
    • A suitable four-year Bachelor’s (Agric) degree (NQF level 8), or a three-year bachelor’s degree (NQF level 7) and
    an applicable postgraduate qualification (BScHons) in any of the major subjects that are accompanied by agriculture.
    • An average final mark of 60% for all final-year subjects.
    • A mark of more than 60% for the scientific aptitude test.

    Duration of Programme:
    -This programme extends over a minimum of one year but may take longer to complete.

    Programme Content:
    -Research on a particular aspect of tillage, weed control, crop production, stress physiology, vegetable production or pasture
    management is undertaken. The modular component of the programme is aimed at the acquisition of generic research skills to
    support the research component of the programme. A further objective is the deepening of subject knowledge on general crop
    physiology through self-study.
  • Nelson Mandela University  Nelson Mandela University , Port Elizabeth   
    Compulsory modules

    Research Project And Dissertation

    Entry requirements

    (i) Bachelor of Technology: Agricultural Management (a bridging methodology module may be required if application is approved) or equivalent qualification.

    (ii) A suitable degree at B Tech level. A minimum of 60% weighted average must have been obtained in the B Tech qualification with a 65% mark in the major to be used as specialisation for the MSc research project. Recognition of prior learning will be considered. Successful applicants with a BTech qualification may be required to successfully complete a methodology module in their first year of Master’s degree studies.

    Mode of study: full time

    Course duration: 1 year
  • University of the Free State University of the Free State, Bloemfontein  
    Majoring in:-
    Agro meteorology, Agro meteorology Interdisciplinary, Agronomy, Agronomy Interdisciplinary, Animal
    Sciences, Food Science, Grassland Science, Plant Breeding, Plant Breeding Interdisciplinary, Plant
    Pathology, Plant Pathology Interdisciplinary, Soil Science, Soil Science Interdisciplinary, Wildlife.
  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Cape Town  
    Duration: 1 year

More Masters Courses in South Africa

View all courses in South Africa