Colleges and Universities Offering PhD in Microbiology in Nigeria

  • Course Name: PhD in Microbiology()
  • Major Subject:
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering PhD in Microbiology

  • Lagos State University Lagos State University, Lagos  
    Areas of Specialization: Microbial Biotechnology; Medical Microbiology; Environmental Microbiology; Food and Microbiology.

    Course entry requirements:
    i. Candidates must have five credit passes including English, Mathematics and two other relevant science subjects at ‘0’ Level
    ii. Candidates with Bachelor’s degree from any other recognized University must obtain a minimum of second class lower division with a minimum of second class lower division with a minimum CGPA of 3.0/5.0
    iii. Candidates must have Academics Master’s degree in relevant area with a minimum CGPA of 4.0/50
    iv. Candidates who on account of merit due to satisfactory academic performance with minimum CGPA of 4.0/5.0 at M.Phil/Ph.D level may be absorbed/allowed to convert into the Ph.D programme
    v. Candidates must demonstrate adequate intellectual capacity, maturity and effective decision making and problem solving potentials.
  • Bowen University Bowen University, Iwo  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) To be eligible, a candidate must have a relevant Master’s Degree or equivalent from a University approved by Senate and a minimum of weighted average of 60%.
    (ii) In special cases, a programme may require additional conditions including an interview
    (iii) Candidates with M. Phil degree in relevant programmes.

    Candidates in regular employment or employed at Bowen must indicate such and must submit with their applications, formal letter of release to Postgraduate College.

    Applicants who are not graduates of Bowen University must request their former Universities or institutions to forward directly to the College Administrator, College of Postgraduate Studies, Bowen University their academic transcripts as applicable.

    Course duration: 6 semesters
  • Edo State University Edo State University, Uzairue  
    Course entry requirements:
    Master’s degree with a weighted average score of 60% and above (CGPA of not less than 4.0 on a 5 point scale)

    Candidates who do not make up to 60% (≥ 55% or CGPA of not less than 3.5 on a 5 point scale) or deficient in some prerequisite courses especially from another institution may be required to register for the M.Phil/Ph.D. programme. The Department may prescribe appropriate courses for candidates whose academic record is considered deficient for the area of specialization.

    In addition, PhD applicants should submit a concept note/ research proposal of not more than 450 words along with their application form

    Course duration: A minimum of six (6) semesters and a maximum of ten (10) semesters.
  • Elizade University Elizade University, Ilara Mokin  
    Admission criteria:
    -A graduate of Elizade University or any other approved University who possesses a Master’s Degree with research thesis and a weighted coursework average which normally shall not be less than 60% or CGPA of 4.0.

    -In addition to the admission requirements as published, ALL Candidates should please note that in accordance with the University regulations, they must satisfy the O’Level requirements for Matriculation into first degree programmes of Elizade University, i.e. Five Credit passes at not more than two sittings including English Language and Mathematics (where required).

    Course duration: A minimum of three (3) academic sessions, and a maximum of five (5) academic sessions.

    Mode of study: Full time
  • Covenant University Covenant University, Ota  
    Areas of Specialization
    1. Medical Microbiology/Parasitology
    2. Food Microbiology
    3. Environmental/Petroleum Microbiology
    4. Industrial Microbiology
    5. Plant Virology
    6. Mycology
    7. Immunology

    Course entry requirements:
    -Applicants shall possess the Bachelor and Master’s Degrees of Covenant University or any other University recognized by the Senate of Covenant University in the relevant disciplines. To qualify for direct entry into the Ph.D degree programme, a candidate shall have a minimum CGPA of 4.00 on a 5.00 scale or equivalent (60%) in the Master’s (M.A/M.Sc/M.Eng/M.Tech) degree result.

    Course duration: 3 years

    Mode of study: Full time
  • Akwa Ibom State University Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot  
    Specialization options: Microbial Biotechnology, Environmental Microbiology, Food and Industrial Microbiology and Medical Microbiology.

    Course entry requirements:
    (a) SSC or its equivalent with credit passes in at least 5 subjects including English Language, Mathematics, Biology Chemistry and any other relevant subject at not more than two sittings
    (b) M.Sc. Degree in Microbiology with a CGPA of 4.00 on a 5-point scale or average of 60% (B).
  • Kwara State University Kwara State University, Malete  
    Course entry requirements:
    Master’s Degree with a minimum Cumulative (Weighted) Average Score of 60%. Such candidates must satisfy the University’s requirements for matriculation.
  • University of Ilorin University of Ilorin, Ilorin  
    -Industrial Microbiology
    -Environmental Microbiology
    -Medical Microbiology
    -Veterinary Microbiology
  • Osun State University Osun State University, Osogbo  
    Specialization options:
    -Medical Microbiology
    -Environmental Microbiology
    -Food and Industrial Microbiology
  • Paul University Paul University, Awka  
    Course Duration: 4 semesters

    Mode of Study: Full time
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University Olabisi Onabanjo University, Iwoye  
    Mode of study: Full Time and Part Time
  • Southwestern University Nigeria Southwestern University Nigeria, Okun-Owa  
  • Igbinedion University Igbinedion University, Okada  
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Ihiala  
  • Federal University Otuoke Federal University Otuoke, Yenagoa  
  • Ekiti State University Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti  
  • Abia State University Abia State University, Uturu  
  • Novena University Novena University, Ogume  
  • Nasarawa State University Nasarawa State University, Keffi  
  • Federal University of Technology Minna Federal University of Technology Minna, Minna  
  • Federal University of Dutse Federal University of Dutse, Dutse  
  • University of Ibadan University of Ibadan, Ibadan  
  • Mountain Top University Mountain Top University, Makogi Oba  
  • Gregory University Gregory University, Uturu  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria