Colleges and Universities Offering National Diploma in Urban and Regional Planning in Nigeria

  • Course Name: National Diploma in Urban and Regional Planning(Urban and Regional Planning)
  • Major Subject: Urban and Regional Planning
  • Course Category: Diploma Courses

Institutions Offering National Diploma in Urban and Regional Planning

  • The Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro The Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, Ilaro  
    A graduate in Urban and Regional Planning has a mass of knowledge and he/ he is capable of:

    (i) Understanding the concepts, theories and techniques that can be adopted to plan or re-plan urban and rural settlements

    (ii) Applying the laws that guide the arrangement of land uses, Town Planning Profession and Practice

    (iii) Understanding the technique of preparing Environmental Impact Assessment Reports on the location of major physical developments.

    (iv) Understanding the nature and the purpose of physical planning at the local, state, regional and national levels

    (v) Understanding the origins, spatial patterns and forms of urban and rural settlements, and the factors that determine and shape their structure

    Course requirements

    WAEC,GCE[O/L],SSCE,NECO,NABTEB or equivalent with Credits in English Language, Mathematics, Geography and any other two subjects from:

    (i) Economics/Commerce

    (ii) Technical Drawing/Fine Art

    (iii) Further Mathematics

    (iv) Chemistry

    (v) Physics

    (vi) Biology/Agricultural Science

    (vii) History/Government

    (viii) Business Method/Book Keeping and Principles of Accounting

    (ix) One of the two basic Science subjects.

    Mode of study: Full time

    Class schedule: Day

    Course duration: Four semesters
  • Osun State Polytechnic Osun State Polytechnic, Iree  
    Applicants are expected to have the qualifications below:
    Minimum of 5 Credits in O’Level GCE, SSCE of WAEC, SSCE of NECO or NTC of NABTEB obtained at not more than two sittings from Mathematics, English Language, Geography/Economics, Fine Arts/Technical Drawing and any other one subject from the following:
    (i) Physics

    (ii) Chemistry

    (iii) Biology/Agricultural Science

    (iv) Further Mathematics

    (v) ICT

    (vi) Fine Arts

    (vii) Technical/Building Drawing

    (viii) Geography

    (ix) Economics

    (x) Commerce

    (xi) Statistics

    (xii) Woodwork

    (xiii) General Metal Work and any other trade related subjects such as:

    (a) Introduction to Building Construction

    (b) Bricklaying/ Blocklaying

    (c) Concreting

    (d) Carpentry and Joinery

    (e) Machine Woodwork

    (f) General Woodwork.

    Course duration: Two years
  • Osun State College of Technology Osun State College of Technology, Osun  
    Minimum requirements
    Minimum of four (4) credit passes in GCE ‘O’Level or SSCE of WAEC or SSCE of NECO
    or NTC of NABTEB obtained in Mathematics, and three (3) other relevant subjects as stated
    below. At least a pass in English Language is compulsory.

    In addition to the general entry requirements, applicant must posses credit in
    Economics or Geography and two (2) credit passes must be obtained from any of the
    following subjects: Commerce, Fine Arts, Technical Drawing, Statistics, Chemistry,
    Physics, Biology, Agricultural Science, History, Government, Business Methods,
    Principles of Accounts, Building Construction, and Woodwork.

    One of the two (2) subjects must be a basic science

    Course duration: Two years
  • Delta State Polytechnic Ogwashi-Uku Delta State Polytechnic Ogwashi-Uku, Ogwashi-Uku  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) Candidates must have at least (5) five credits in SSCE (WAEC and NECO) G.C.E O’level, NABTEB or it’s equivalent in relevant subjects including English Language and Mathematics in not more than two (2) sittings.
    (ii) Candidates who sat for 2022 UTME in the relevant subjects to the course of study.

    (iii) Candidates who chose Delta State Polytechnic, Ogwashi-Uku as first or second choice and scored 100 and above in the 2022 UTME exercise.

    (iv) Candidates who did not choose Delta State Polytechnic, Ogwashi-uku, but now wish to be considered for admission and scored 100 and above in the 2022 UTME.
  • Dorben Polytechnic Dorben Polytechnic, Abuja  
    Course entry requirements
    -Applicants must pass through the Universal Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) organized by JAMB. The cut off mark for the institution must have been made.
    -Candidates must have at least five credits in relevant SSCE/GCE 'O' level subjects.
    -Credits in Mathematics, English Language and any other three subjects from Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Geography or Technical Drawing.

    Course duration
    (i) Full-time: 2 year
    (ii) Part-time: 3 years
  • Adamawa State Polytechnic Adamawa State Polytechnic, Yola  
    Course entry requirements
    -Applicants must have SSCE/WAEC/MABTEB or equivalent with five (5) Credits including English, Mathematics and Physics and any other one from the following: (Biology, Chemistry, Technical Drawing, Agric and Basic Electricity).
    -Candidates must have at least One hundred and twenty (120) points from 2017 Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) in relevant subject combinations

    Course duration: 2 years
  • The Federal Polytechnic,Bida The Federal Polytechnic,Bida, Bida  
    Applicants are required to have scored a minimum of Five credit passes of SSCE, NTE, NECO, WAEC, GCE, NBC, or NABTEB at not more than two sittings.

    Course duration: Two years
  • Benue State Polytechnic Benue State Polytechnic, Otukpo  
    Course entry requirements
    -A minimum of four credits in the SCCE, General Certificate in Education, NABTEB, NECO or their equivalence at credit level.
  • Allover Central Polytechnic Allover Central Polytechnic, Ota  
    Mode of Study: Part Time
  • Auchi Polytechnic Auchi Polytechnic, Auchi  
    Duration: 2 years
  • Yaba College of Technology Yaba College of Technology, Yaba  
  • Kaduna Polytechnic Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna  
  • Temple Gate Polytechnic Temple Gate Polytechnic, Aba  
  • Valley View Polytechnic Valley View Polytechnic, Ohafia  
  • Crown Polytechnic Crown Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti  
  • Jigawa State Polytechnic Jigawa State Polytechnic, Dutse  
  • Isa Mustapha Agwai Polytechnic Isa Mustapha Agwai Polytechnic, Lafia  
  • The Federal Polytechnic Idah The Federal Polytechnic Idah, Idah  
  • Rufus Giwa Polytechnic Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo  
  • Federal Polytechnic Nekede Federal Polytechnic Nekede, Owerri  
  • Moshood Abiola Polytechnic Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Ogun  
  • Ramat Polytechnic Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri  
  • Kano State Polytechnic Kano State Polytechnic, Kano  

More Diploma Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria