Colleges and Universities Offering Master of Science in Physics in Nigeria

  • Course Name: Master of Science in Physics(Physics)
  • Major Subject: Physics
  • Course Category: Masters Courses

Institutions Offering Master of Science in Physics

  • Bowen University Bowen University, Iwo  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) All candidates are required to possess a Bachelor’s degree obtained from a University approved by Senate and with a grade not less than Second Class Lower Division.
    (ii) A candidate with less than Second Class Lower Division plus a Postgraduate Diploma with a minimum of Upper Credit in a relevant field from a recognized University.
    (iii) In addition to (i) and (ii) above, candidates must satisfy the Ordinary Level requirement of five (5 subjects which must include English Language, Mathematics and any other three (3) subject as may be specified for the programme of choice.

    Candidates in regular employment or employed at Bowen must indicate such and must submit with their applications, formal letter of release to Postgraduate College.

    Applicants who are not graduates of Bowen University must request their former Universities or institutions to forward directly to the College Administrator, College of Postgraduate Studies, Bowen University their academic transcripts as applicable.
  • Akwa Ibom State University Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot  
    Specialization options: Atmospheric Physics and Space Physics, Geophysics, Electronic and Engineering Physics and Communication Physics, Radiation, Health and Nuclear Physics, Condensed

    Course entry requirements:
    (a) SSC or its equivalent with credit passes in at least 5 subjects including English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, and any other relevant subject at not more than two sittings.
    (b) Bachelor’s Degree with a minimum of Second Class Lower Division in Physics from any recognized University
    (c) Candidates with a minimum of Second Class Lower Division in Mathematics, Computer Science or Engineering from any recognized University may be considered for admission.
    (d) Candidates who possess Third Class at the Bachelor’s Level or HND at Upper Credit Level and PGD in Physics at Upper Credit level may be considered for admission.
  • Lagos State University Lagos State University, Lagos  
    Course entry requirements:
    a. Candidates for admission into this programme MUST be holders of Bachelor of Science Degree in Physics, OR related disciplines, such as Mathematics AND Electrical Engineering NOT lower than a Second Class Lower Division [or CGPA not below 2.50] of Lagos State University, OR other Institution recognized by the Senate of Lagos State University.
    b. a Physics graduate [B.Sc of Lagos State University and other Universities recognized by Senate of Lagos State University with a pass or third class degree, but that has successfully completed the Postgraduate Diploma in Industrial [or Engineering] Physics with a CGPA of 3.50 and above.
  • Redeemer's University Redeemer's University, Ede  
    Admission requirements:
    (a) A candidate must have at least five (5) credit passes at 'O' level, including English Language, Mathematics and Physics.

    (b) A candidate with at least a Second Class (Hons) Lower Division
    in Physics with Electronics of the Redeemer's University or other recognised
    Universities is eligible for admission. However, candidates from other
    universities may be required to offer lower-level courses which are relevant to their areas of specialisation.

    (c) Candidates must demonstrate adequate intellectual capacity, good
    communication skills, maturity, and ability to make effective independent
  • Tai Solarin University of Education Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode  
    Course entry requirements:
    a) Graduates of Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun or other Universities recognized by the University Senate who have obtained the approved Bachelor’s Degree with at least Second Class Honours (Lower Division) in the field of study.

    b) Candidates with Third Class Bachelor’s Degrees and Postgraduate Diploma in the same subject.

    c) Candidates with HND (Minimum of Lower CREDIT) and Postgraduate Diploma in the course applied for.

    Course duration:
    (i) Full time- 18 Months
    (ii) Part time-36 Months
  • Federal University of Agriculture Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta  
    Specialization options:
    (i) Environmental Physics
    (ii) Radiation and Health Physics
    (iii) Condensed Matter Physics
    (iv) Solid Earth Physics/Geophysics
    (v) Theoretical Physics
    (vi) Computational Physics

    Course duration:
    Full Time - 4 Semesters Minimum and Maximum of 8 Semesters
    Part Time - 8 Semesters Minimum and Maximum of 12 Semesters
  • Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina, Katsina  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Graduates of recognized Universities who have obtained the approved Bachelors Degree in relevant field, with at least Second-Class Honors or its equivalent.
    -Candidates who hold qualifications other than the ones listed above, which are acceptable to the Senate of the University.

    Course duration: 4 to 6 Semesters
  • Landmark University Landmark University, Omu Aran  
    Course entry requirements:
    -At least a minimum of Second Class Lower Honours Degree of Landmark University, Omu Aran, or any other University recognized by the Senate, in relevant discipline.
    -Third Class Bachelor’s degree and a good PGD.
    -HND (minimum of Merit grade) plus PGD.

    Course duration: 3-5 semesters
  • University of Ilorin University of Ilorin, Ilorin  
    -n Radio Propagation and Space/Communication Physics
    -Ionospheric Physics
    -Solid State and Materials Science
    -Theoretical and Mathematical Physics
    -Solar Energy and Solar Radiation Physics
    -Meteorology and Atmospheric Physics
  • Ignatius Ajuru University of Education Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) First degree from any recognized University with at least a Second Class Degree in a related field
    (ii) Postgraduate Diploma in a related field of study
  • The Federal University of Technology Akure The Federal University of Technology Akure, Akure  
    Condensed Matter Physics
    Electronic Measurements & Instrumentation
    Communication Physics
    Radiation and Health/Medical Physics
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University Olabisi Onabanjo University, Iwoye  
    Mode of study: Full Time and Part Time
  • Federal University,Lokoja Federal University,Lokoja, Lokoja  
    Course duration: 2 years
  • Taraba State University Taraba State University, Jalingo  
  • Osun State University Osun State University, Osogbo  
  • Gombe State University Gombe State University, Gombe  
  • Federal University Otuoke Federal University Otuoke, Yenagoa  
  • Ekiti State University Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti  
  • Federal University of Technology Owerri Federal University of Technology Owerri, Owerri  
  • Federal University of Dutse Federal University of Dutse, Dutse  
  • Veritas University Veritas University, Bwari  
  • University of Benin University of Benin, Benin City  
  • Mountain Top University Mountain Top University, Makogi Oba  
  • Usmanu Danfodiyo University Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto  
  • Nasarawa State University Nasarawa State University, Keffi  
  • Kogi State University Kogi State University, Anyigba  
  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun  
  • Cross River University of Technology Cross River University of Technology, Calabar  

More Masters Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria