Colleges and Universities Offering PhD in Physics in Nigeria

  • Course Name: PhD in Physics(Physics)
  • Major Subject: Physics
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering PhD in Physics

  • Bowen University Bowen University, Iwo  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) To be eligible, a candidate must have a relevant Master’s Degree or equivalent from a University approved by Senate and a minimum of weighted average of 60%.
    (ii) In special cases, a programme may require additional conditions including an interview
    (iii) Candidates with M. Phil degree in relevant programmes.

    Candidates in regular employment or employed at Bowen must indicate such and must submit with their applications, formal letter of release to Postgraduate College.

    Applicants who are not graduates of Bowen University must request their former Universities or institutions to forward directly to the College Administrator, College of Postgraduate Studies, Bowen University their academic transcripts as applicable.

    Course duration: 6 semesters
  • Redeemer's University Redeemer's University, Ede  
    Admission requirements:
    Candidates for the Ph.D degree should have obtained the M. Sc. degree in
    Physics from Redeemer's University or any other recognised university, with a weighted average score of 60%.

    All prospective candidates must demonstrate adequate intellectual capacity, good communication skill, maturity and ability to make effective independent decisions.

    Candidates with M. Phil/Ph.D or M.Sc./Ph.D grades in Physics from Redeemer's University or other recognized universities may also be considered for admission, provided they demonstrate exceptional research skill. Such candidates would however be required to take some relevant M.Sc. Courses.
  • Lagos State University Lagos State University, Lagos  
    Course entry requirements:
    a. Candidates who have attained at least a 60% level of pass, OR a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 4.0 in the Master of Science M.Sc. Degree in Physics programme of Lagos State University AND who have made satisfactory progress in their projects.
    b. Candidates with the Master of Science Degree in Physics, Degree of other recognized Universities, AND whose performance is adjudged to be adequate for the course.
    However such candidates may be required to take courses as the Department may prescribe.

    Course duration: Minimum of SIX (6) Semesters and maximum of TEN (10) Semesters.
  • Akwa Ibom State University Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot  
    Specialization options: Atmospheric Physics and Space Physics, Geophysics, Electronic and Engineering Physics and Communication Physics, Radiation, Health and Nuclear Physics, Condensed Matter Physics and Mathematical Physics, Energy and Environmental Physics.

    Course entry requirements:
    (a) SSC or its equivalent with credit passes in at least 5 subjects including English Language, Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics and any other relevant subject at not more than two sittings.
    (b) Master’s Degree in Physics with a CGPA of not less than 4.00 on a 5-point scale or average of 60% (B).
  • Tai Solarin University of Education Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode  
    Course entry requirements:
    a) Every candidate must have a Master’s degree in his/her area of specialization with a minimum CGPA of 4.0 or 60%.

    b) Holders of M.Phil. Degree in his/her area of specialization.

    c) Those who have CGPA of 3.50 – 3.99 or 55% and above in Master’s degree programme can apply.

    d) Candidates in (c) above will have to go through a conversion process into Ph.D. programme.

    Course duration: 36 months
  • The Federal University of Technology Akure The Federal University of Technology Akure, Akure  
    Course entry requirements:
    (a) A good Masters degree in the appropriate discipline with a CGPA of 3.50 and/or 60% minimum average score.
    (b) Any other qualification approved by Senate.

    Course duration:
    (a) Full-Time candidates may defend their theses between thirty-six (36) and forty eight (48) months.
    (b) Part-Time candidates may defend their theses between forty-eight (48) and sixty (60) months.
  • Federal University of Agriculture Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta  
    Specialization options:
    (i) Environmental Physics
    (ii) Radiation and Health Physics
    (iii) Condensed Matter Physics
    (iv) Solid Earth Physics/Geophysics
    (v) Theoretical Physics
    (vi) Computational Physics

    Course duration:
    Full Time- 6 Semesters Minimum and Maximum of 10 Semesters
    Part Time - 8 Semesters Minimum and Maximum of 12 Semesters
  • Landmark University Landmark University, Omu Aran  
    Course entry requirements:
    Applicants should possess a Master degree relevant to the intended programme. However, such intending candidate should have scored:
    -an average of at least 60% (3.5 CGPA) in his/her Master degree programme.
    -between 55% - 59% to qualify for M.Phil. Ph.D.
    -between 50% - 54% to qualify for M.Phil. Programme.

    Course duration: 6-10 semesters
  • Benue State University Benue State University, Makurdi  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Admission shall be opened to candidates who have a minimum of an M.Sc Degree in Physics or its equivalent with a minimum of
    3.5 grade point on a 5-point scale from Benue State University or any other recognized University.

    Course duration:
    Full time:
    Minimum: 3 years
    Maximum: 5 years

    Part time: 6 years
  • University of Ilorin University of Ilorin, Ilorin  
    -Radio Propagation and Space/Communication Physics
    -Ionospheric Physics
    -Solid State and Materials Science
    -Theoretical and Mathematical Physics
    -Solar Energy and Solar Radiation Physics
    -Meteorology and Atmospheric Physics
  • Ignatius Ajuru University of Education Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Master’s degree in a very related field with a CGPA of 3.5 and above on a 5.0 scale
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University Olabisi Onabanjo University, Iwoye  
    Mode of study: Full Time and Part Time
  • Federal University,Lokoja Federal University,Lokoja, Lokoja  
    Course duration: 3 years
  • Osun State University Osun State University, Osogbo  
  • Gombe State University Gombe State University, Gombe  
  • Federal University Otuoke Federal University Otuoke, Yenagoa  
  • Federal University of Technology Owerri Federal University of Technology Owerri, Owerri  
  • Federal University of Technology Minna Federal University of Technology Minna, Minna  
  • Federal University of Dutse Federal University of Dutse, Dutse  
  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun  
  • Koladaisi University	 Koladaisi University , Ibadan  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria