Colleges and Universities Offering PhD in Civil Engineering in Nigeria

  • Course Name: PhD in Civil Engineering(Civil Engineering)
  • Major Subject: Civil Engineering
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering PhD in Civil Engineering

  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nsukka  
    Specialization options:
    i. Water Resources Engineering
    ii. Environmental Engineering
    iii. Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering
    iv. Structural Engineering
    v. Materials and Construction Management
    vi. Highway Engineering

    Course entry requirements:
    -Candidates must possess M.Sc. or M.Eng in the same area of specialization being applied for with an average grade point of not less than 3.5 on a 5-point scale from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. Applicants who already possess a Masters degree at the same level of pass from recognized institutions may be considered for entry to the Ph.D programme.

    Course duration:
    Full-Time: Minimum of 6 semesters
    Part-Time: Minimum of 6 semesters
  • Covenant University Covenant University, Ota  
    Study options:
    -Highway and Transportation
    -Water Resources and Environmental Engineering
    -Geotechnical Engineering
    -Structural Engineering and Construction Materials

    Course entry requirements:
    -Applicants shall possess the Bachelor and Master’s Degrees of Covenant University or any other University recognized by the Senate of Covenant University in the relevant disciplines. To qualify for direct entry into the Ph.D degree programme, a candidate shall have a minimum CGPA of 4.00 on a 5.00 scale or equivalent (60%) in the Master’s (M.A/M.Sc/M.Eng/M.Tech) degree result.

    Course duration: 3 years

    Mode of study: Full time
  • Afe Babalola University Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Relevant Master Degree of Afe Babalola University or any other University recognized by the Senate of Afe Babalola University with Minimum of 60% or Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 3.50 on a 5.00 Grade
    -Any candidate with a CGPA from 00 to 3.49, shall be
    -Admitted into M.Phil./Ph.D. Programme, except Engineering, with the opportunity of converting to Ph.D. Programme later.
  • Landmark University Landmark University, Omu Aran  
    Course entry requirements:
    Applicants should possess a Master degree relevant to the intended programme. However, such intending candidate should have scored:
    -an average of at least 60% (3.5 CGPA) in his/her Master degree programme.
    -between 55% - 59% to qualify for M.Phil. Ph.D.
    -between 50% - 54% to qualify for M.Phil. Programme.

    Course duration: 6-10 semesters
  • Kwara State University Kwara State University, Malete  
    Specialization options:
    -Structural Engineering
    -Water Resources Engineering
    -Transportation Engineering

    Course entry requirements:
    Master’s Degree with a minimum Cumulative (Weighted) Average Score of 60%. Such candidates must satisfy the University’s requirements for matriculation.
  • University of Agriculture, Makurdi University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Makurdi  
    Minimum entry requirement:
    Holders of Master Degree of the Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi or other recognized Universities with a minimum CGPA of 3.50 on a 5 point scale provided that satisfactory research work formed part of the degree. Relevant prerequisites apply
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka  
    Areas of specialization:
    i.) Structural Engineering
    ii.) Water Resources Engineering
    iii.) Environmental Engineering
    iv) Geotechnical Engineering
  • University of Ilorin University of Ilorin, Ilorin  
    -Water Resources and Environmental Engineering
    -Transportation and Highway Engineering
    -Materials Engineering
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Ihiala  
  • Osun State University Osun State University, Osogbo  
  • Nigerian Defence Academy Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna  
  • Federal University of Technology Owerri Federal University of Technology Owerri, Owerri  
  • Federal University of Technology Minna Federal University of Technology Minna, Minna  
  • Niger Delta University Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island  
  • Gregory University Gregory University, Uturu  
  • The Federal University of Technology Akure The Federal University of Technology Akure, Akure  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria