Colleges and Universities Offering Bachelor of Science (Honours) Physics in South Africa

  • Course Name: Bachelor of Science (Honours) Physics()
  • Major Subject:
  • Course Category: Degree Courses

Bachelor of Science (Honours) Physics degree offers a deep understanding of the fundamental principles governing the physical universe. Students explore various subfields of physics including classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, electromagnetism and thermodynamics, through a combination of theoretical coursework and practical laboratory sessions. This program equips graduates with strong analytical, problem-solving and critical-thinking skills, making them highly sought-after in various industries and research fields.

Potential career opportunities for Bachelor of Science (Honours) Physics graduates include:

- Research Scientist
- Data Analyst
- Astrophysicist
- Nuclear Physicist
- Medical Physicist
- Renewable Energy Specialist
- Aerospace Engineer
- Patent Examiner
- Meteorologist
- Secondary School Teacher
- Technical Writer
- Electronics Engineer
- Financial Analyst

Institutions Offering Bachelor of Science (Honours) Physics

  • University of Limpopo University of Limpopo, Polokwane  
    Course Entry Requirements:
    (a) A BSc degree with major(s) in courses in the discipline area in which a student wants to study
    and a final average mark for the relevant final year major(s) of at least 60%.
    (b) A candidate who does not meet the above requirement may be admitted on special
    recommendation, after consultation with and approval by the Head of Department. In such
    cases, a mid-year progress report from the Head of Department will determine continuation in
    the programme.
    (c) On special recommendation, including application of the RPL Policy and Strategy of the
    University of Limpopo, and after consultation with and approval by the Head of Department.

    Course Duration:
    (a) One (1) year minimum
    (b) Two (2) years maximum
  • University of the Witwatersrand University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg  
    Entry Requirements:
    - A Bachelor of Science degree or equivalent
    - A pass in the relevant major course at this University or any other university whose programme has been approved by Senate.
    - At least 60% average in the final undergraduate course.

    Please note that this is a highly competitive programme and a 60% average does not guarantee admission.

    Course Duration:
    1 year (Full time)
    2 years (Part time)
  • University of Stellenbosch University of Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch  
    Specific Admission Requirements:
    • A BSc degree with Physics as major with an average final mark of at least 60% in Physics 3.
    • Applications which deviate from the abovementioned requirement, for example if a BSc degree was obtained elsewhere, will only be considered on recommendation of the Department and approval by the Faculty Committee.
    • The Department may require supplementary work, depending on your background.

    Course Duration: 1 year
  • University of Pretoria University of Pretoria, Pretoria  
    Admission Requirements:
    Relevant BSc degree
    An average of at least 60% for Physics modules at third-year level

    Selection Process:
    A limited number of students will be admitted
    Performance during prior studies will be considered in selecting students
    Specific attention will be given to modules repeated and duration of study

    Duration of study:
    1 year, full-time.
  • University of Venda University of Venda, Limpopo  
    Course entry requirements:
    Bachelor’s degree in Physics with an average of 60% for the third-year level and a pass in Mathematics at the second-year level.
  • University of the Free State University of the Free State, Bloemfontein  

More Degree Courses in South Africa

View all courses in South Africa