Colleges and Universities Offering Bachelor of Arts in History in Nigeria

  • Course Name: Bachelor of Arts in History(History)
  • Major Subject: History
  • Course Category: Degree Courses

Institutions Offering Bachelor of Arts in History

  • University of Benin University of Benin, Benin City  
    Admission criteria:
    (i) Four year degree program
    -In addition to satisfying the University minimum entry requirements and the Faculty prescribed requirements which normally include the West African School certificate and the General Certificate of Education. For admission into the department, the candidate must have at least five Ordinary Level Credit passes in WASC, WAECSSCE/GCE, NECOSSCE or at least five merit-level passes in the Teachers Grade II (TC II) examinations or its recognized equivalent at not more than two sittings. The subjects should include English Language, History or Government, and any other Arts subject. Note that UME subjects are: (a) Use of English (b) History or Government, (c) One Arts subject and (d) any other subject.

    (ii) 3 year degree program
    In addition to the above, candidates who possess any of the following qualifications may be considered for admission:

    -At least two Advanced Level passes at the General Certificate of Education (G.C.E.) or the Higher School Certificate (H.S.C.) or a recognized equivalent qualification in History or Government, and any other related subject.

    -Nigerian Certificate of Education (NCE) with at least a credit level pass in History, Government or Social Studies from a recognized College of Education. In addition, candidates should have at least an overall credit-level pass.

    -At least a credit-level pass in the University of Benin Diploma in any of the following: Diploma in Public Administration (DPA) Diploma in Social work (DSW), Diploma in Theatre Arts (DTA) Diploma in Law (DIL), Diploma in International Studies and Diplomacy (DISD) or equivalent qualifications (at least an upper credit-level pass) from any other recognized University.
  • Sokoto State University Sokoto State University, Sokoto  
    Admission requirements:
    The Senior Secondary School (SSS) certificate or GCE O’ level with credit in History or Government, English Language and three other subjects in addition to this, an acceptable score at the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examinations (UTME) is required.
    Direct Entry (DE): 3-Year Degree Programme

    Two passes (at least one must be in either History or Government) at the General Certificate of Education (GCE) Advanced Level or its equivalent with three other subjects in the West African School Certificate (WASC) or General Certificate of Education (GCE) Ordinary Level, NECO.
    Two passes (at least one must be in History) at the IJMB Examination or the equivalent with School Certificate Credit passes or equivalent in three other subjects.
    Three passes (at least one must be in History or Government) at the General Certificate of Education (GCE) Advanced Level or its equivalent with two other subjects in the West African School Certificate (WASC) or General Certificate of Education (GCE) Ordinary Level, NECO; or
    Two credits (one of which must be in History) in NCE with School Certificate credit passes or its equivalent in three other subjects.
  • Federal University, Birnin Kebbi Federal University, Birnin Kebbi, Birnin Kebbi  
    Admission requirements:
    Candidates for admission into the four – year degree in History should possess a Senior Secondary School Certificate, General Certificate of Education (GCE), NECO or their equivalents with at least five credit passes,at not more than two sittings including Mathematics, English Language and Literature. In addition, candidates must have acceptable passes in UME.

    Direct Entry
    Candidates for Direct Entry admission shall possess five Credits in GCE, SSCE, NECO, or their equivalents, of which at least two shall be at Advanced Level, provided that such passes are not counted at both levels of the examination. For emphasis, credit passes in English Language, Mathematics and Literature are required.
  • Federal University, Dutsin-Ma Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina  
    Entry requirements:
    UME Entry:
    5 Credit level passes in the SSCE/NECO/GCE (O/L) examinations in relevant subjects including English Language and History/Government for the 4-year (8-Semester) programme.

    Direct Entry:
    For the 3-year (6-Semester) programme, a minimum of two GCE (Advanced Level)/equivalent Credit passes in relevant subjects is required. In addition candidate must have Credit passes in at least three O’ Level subjects including English Language and History/Government.
  • Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina, Katsina  
    Admission requirements:
    Five credit passes at SSCE (or its equivalent) in English Language, Mathematics, History, and any other two Arts or Social Science subjects in not more than two sittings.

    Direct requirements:
    Candidates with a minimum of 9 points in IJMB/ HSC/GCE A level /NCE, in History and any other relevant subject.

    Candidates with a minimum of Lower Credit pass in Diploma in History Education from recognized institutions may also be admitted.
  • Redeemer's University Redeemer's University, Ede  
    Admission requirements:
    Candidates who wish to be considered for Direct Entry admission to pursue a three year degree programme are advised to contact the Department for necessary guidance on admission requirements.

    Two A’ Level passes in History/Government and a subject in Arts/Social Sciences.

    NCE History/Government & Diploma with credit passes in relevant subjects in addition to 5 Credits at SSCE (or its equivalent).
  • Obafemi Awolowo University Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife  
    Duration :4 years

    Admission requirements:
    'O' Level Requirements: Credits in English Language; History; plus one (1) Arts subject; and any other two (2) subjects.
  • Sule Lamido University Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa  
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano  
  • Yobe State University Yobe State University, Damaturu  
  • Federal College Of Education, Eha Amufu Federal College Of Education, Eha Amufu, Enugu  
  • Saadatu Rimi College of Education, kano Saadatu Rimi College of Education, kano, Kano  
  • Adeyemi College of Education Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo  
  • Kwara State College of education, Ilorin Kwara State College of education, Ilorin, Ilorin  
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Minna  
  • Niger State College of Education, Minna Niger State College of Education, Minna, Minna  
  • University of Ilorin University of Ilorin, Ilorin  
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka  
  • Nasarawa State University Nasarawa State University, Keffi  
  • Michael Okpara Federal University of Agriculture Michael Okpara Federal University of Agriculture, Umudike  
  • Kaduna State University Kaduna State University, Kaduna  
  • Bowen University Bowen University, Iwo  
  • Benue State University Benue State University, Makurdi  
  • Bayero University Bayero University, Kano  

More Degree Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria