Colleges and Universities Offering PhD in Biochemistry in Nigeria

  • Course Name: PhD in Biochemistry()
  • Major Subject:
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering PhD in Biochemistry

  • Covenant University Covenant University, Ota  
    Areas of Specialization
    1. Enzymology
    2. Food and Nutritional Biochemistry
    3. Pharmacology and Medicinal Plant Research
    4. Industrial Biochemistry
    5. Clinical Biochemistry
    6. Environmental and Toxicological Biochemistry
    7. Molecular Oncology and Cancer Research
    8. Molecular Biology

    Course entry requirements:
    Applicants shall possess the Bachelor and Master’s Degrees of Covenant University or any other University recognized by the Senate of Covenant University in the relevant disciplines. To qualify for direct entry into the Ph.D degree programme, a candidate shall have a minimum CGPA of 4.00 on a 5.00 scale or equivalent (60%) in the Master’s (M.A/M.Sc/M.Eng/M.Tech) degree result.

    Course duration: 3 years

    Mode of study: Full time
  • Elizade University Elizade University, Ilara Mokin  
    Admission criteria:
    -A graduate of Elizade University or any other approved University who possesses a Master’s Degree with research thesis and a weighted coursework average which normally shall not be less than 60% or CGPA of 4.0.

    -In addition to the admission requirements as published, ALL Candidates should please note that in accordance with the University regulations, they must satisfy the O’Level requirements for Matriculation into first degree programmes of Elizade University, i.e. Five Credit passes at not more than two sittings including English Language and Mathematics (where required).

    Course duration: A minimum of three (3) academic sessions, and a maximum of five (5) academic sessions.

    Mode of study: Full time
  • Edo State University Edo State University, Uzairue  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Master’s degree with a weighted average score of 60% and above (CGPA of not less than 4.0 on a 5 point scale)

    -Candidates who do not make up to 60% (≥ 55% or CGPA of not less than 3.5 on a 5 point scale) or deficient in some prerequisite courses especially from another institution may be required to register for the M.Phil/Ph.D. programme. The Department may prescribe appropriate courses for candidates whose academic record is considered deficient for the area of specialization.

    -In addition, PhD applicants should submit a concept note/ research proposal of not more than 450 words along with their application form
  • Lagos State University Lagos State University, Lagos  
    Course entry requirements:
    Any of the following:
    a. A weighted average of 60% and above obtained from the M.Sc. Biochemistry degree of LASU or any other University recognised by the Senate of LASU.
    b. A graduate of M.Phil programme of LASU or any other University recognized by the Senate of LASU
    c. Candidates who have successfully converted from the M.Phil/Ph.D programme of LASU.
    Candidates shall be required to undergo a selection processes.

    Course duration: Minimum of six (6) semesters and maximum of ten (10) semesters.
  • Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa  
    Specialization options:
    (i) Protein Chemistry and Enzymology
    (ii) Medical and Clinical Biochemistry
    (iii) Pharmacology and Toxicology Biochemistry
    (iv) Nutrition and Food Biochemistry
    (v) Plant Biochemistry
    (vi) Molecular Biology and Bioinformatics

    Course entry requirements:
    Holders of Master’s Degree from any University recognized by the National Universities Commission with a minimum CGPA of 3.50 on a 5.0 point scale, provided that satisfactory Master’s degree research work formed part of the degree.
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nsukka  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Applicants must have academic Master’s degree in relevant areas with a minimum CGPA of 3.0 on a 4- point scale or 3.5 on a 5- point scale or 60% and Project score not lower than 60% B

    Course duration:
    (i) Full-time: minimum of 6 semesters (36 months) or a maximum of 10 semesters (60 months)
    (ii) Part-time: minimum of 8 semesters (48 months) and a maximum of 12 semesters (72 months).
  • The Federal University of Technology Akure The Federal University of Technology Akure, Akure  
    Course entry requirements:
    (a) A good Masters degree in the appropriate discipline with a CGPA of 3.50 and/or 60% minimum average score.
    (b) Any other qualification approved by Senate.

    Course duration:
    (a) Full-Time candidates may defend their theses between thirty-six (36) and forty eight (48) months.
    (b) Part-Time candidates may defend their theses between forty-eight (48) and sixty (60) months.
  • Afe Babalola University Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Relevant Master Degree of Afe Babalola University or any other University recognized by the Senate of Afe Babalola University with Minimum of 60% or Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 3.50 on a 5.00 Grade
    -Any candidate with a CGPA from 00 to 3.49, shall be admitted into M.Phil./Ph.D. Programme, except Engineering, with the opportunity of converting to Ph.D. Programme later.
  • University of Jos University of Jos, Jos  
    Entry Requirements:
    For M.Phil/Ph.D in Biochemistry, candidates must have academic Master’s degree in iv. Public Health and Sanitary Microbiology Biochemistry and/or Molecular Biology or equivalent areas with a minimum CGPA of 4.00 and thesis score not lower than 60% (B) or Weighted Score Average (WSA) of 60%.
  • Federal University of Agriculture Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta  
    Course duration:
    Full Time - 6 Semesters Minimum and Maximum of 10 Semesters
    Part Time - 8 Semesters Minimum and Maximum of 12 Semesters
  • Paul University Paul University, Awka  
    Course Duration: 4 semesters

    Mode of Study: Full time
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University Olabisi Onabanjo University, Iwoye  
    Mode of study: Part Time
  • Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina, Katsina  
  • Ajayi Crowther University Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo  
  • Southwestern University Nigeria Southwestern University Nigeria, Okun-Owa  
  • Igbinedion University Igbinedion University, Okada  
  • Rivers State University Rivers State University, Port Harcourt  
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Ihiala  
  • Federal University Otuoke Federal University Otuoke, Yenagoa  
  • University of Ilorin University of Ilorin, Ilorin  
  • Federal University of Technology Owerri Federal University of Technology Owerri, Owerri  
  • Federal University of Technology Minna Federal University of Technology Minna, Minna  
  • Bingham University Bingham University, Karu  
  • Benson Idahosa University Benson Idahosa University, Benin City  
  • Yobe State University Yobe State University, Damaturu  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria