Colleges and Universities Offering Ph.D in Medical Laboratory Sciences in Nigeria

  • Course Name: Ph.D in Medical Laboratory Sciences(Medical Laboratory Sciences)
  • Major Subject: Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering Ph.D in Medical Laboratory Sciences

  • Edo State University Edo State University, Uzairue  
    Specialization options: Chemical pathology, Haematology and Blood Transfusion Science, Histopathology, Medical Microbiology, Immunology and Immunochemistry

    Course entry requirements:
    -Master’s degree with a weighted average score of 60% and above (CGPA of not less than 4.0 on a 5 point scale)

    -Candidates who do not make up to 60% (≥ 55% or CGPA of not less than 3.5 on a 5 point scale) or deficient in some prerequisite courses especially from another institution may be required to register for the M.Phil/Ph.D. programme. The Department may prescribe appropriate courses for candidates whose academic record is considered deficient for the area of specialization.

    -In addition, PhD applicants should submit a concept note/ research proposal of not more than 450 words along with their application form
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nsukka  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) M.Sc degree of the Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences or in related areas obtained from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka or from
    other recognized Universities recognized by senate provided that the M.Sc is passed with grade point average of at least 3.5 on the 5 point scale or its equivalent and a thesis score not lower than 60% (B).
    (ii) Candidates must also have obtained Bachelors degree from an approved University with a minimum of second class lower division with a CGPA of 3.0/5.0.

    Course duration:
    Full Time: A minimum of 6 semesters
    A maximum of 10 semesters

    Part Time: A minimum of 8 semesters
    A maximum of 14 semesters
  • Achievers University Achievers University, Owo  
    Course entry requirements
    (i) Applicants must have scored a minimum of 60% (B grade) in the Master of Science degree of any university recognized by the Senate in the relevant area of specialization in Medical Laboratory Science
    (ii) Candidates with M.Phil certificates from recognized universities are also eligible for admission. Candidates must demonstrate adequate intellectual capacity, maturity as well as effective decision-making and problem-solving potentials.
  • Afe Babalola University Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Relevant Master Degree of Afe Babalola University or any other University recognized by the Senate of Afe Babalola University with Minimum of 60% or Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 3.50 on a 5.00 Grade
    -Any candidate with a CGPA from 00 to 3.49, shall be admitted into M.Phil./Ph.D. Programme, except Engineering, with the opportunity of converting to Ph.D. Programme later.
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka  
    Specialization options:
    i.) Immunology
    ii.) Haematology
    iii.) Medical Microbiology
    iv.) Clinical Chemistry
    v.) Histopathology

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria