Colleges and Universities Offering Ph.D in Mathematics in Nigeria

  • Course Name: Ph.D in Mathematics(Mathematics)
  • Major Subject: Mathematics
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering Ph.D in Mathematics

  • Bowen University Bowen University, Iwo  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) To be eligible, a candidate must have a relevant Master’s Degree or equivalent from a University approved by Senate and a minimum of weighted average of 60%.
    (ii) In special cases, a programme may require additional conditions including an interview
    (iii) Candidates with M. Phil degree in relevant programmes.

    Candidates in regular employment or employed at Bowen must indicate such and must submit with their applications, formal letter of release to Postgraduate College.

    Applicants who are not graduates of Bowen University must request their former Universities or institutions to forward directly to the College Administrator, College of Postgraduate Studies, Bowen University their academic transcripts as applicable.

    Course duration: 6 semesters
  • Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina, Katsina  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) Graduates of recognized Universities who have obtained a good Masters Degree appropriate to the proposed areas of study;
    (ii) Graduates of recognized Universities who have obtained Masters of Philosophy degree with considered high CGPA to proceed for PHD in the appropriate field to the proposed areas of study;
    (iii) In addition to (i) – (ii) above, a candidate must possess at least a Bachelors degree in Second Class lower division;
    (iv) Candidates who hold qualifications other than the above, which are acceptable to the Board of Postgraduate School and Senate of the University;
    (v) Candidate must state the proposed area of research and submit a synopsis of not less than 500 words of the proposed topic of research.

    Course duration: 6 to 10 Semesters
  • Akwa Ibom State University Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot  
    Specialization options: Applied Mathematics, Pure Mathematics.

    Course entry requirements:
    (a) SSC or its equivalent with credit passes in at least 5 subjects including English Language, Mathematics and other relevant Science subjects at not more than two sittings.
    (b) M.Sc. degree in Mathematics from a recognized University with a minimum CGPA of 4.00 on a 5- point scale or average of 60% (B).
    (c) Candidates who possess Bachelor’s Degree with First Class honours in Mathematics could be admitted for the M.Sc./Ph.D. programmes with the hope that after the M.Sc. course work and a satisfactory report by relevant Postgraduate Committees, the candidates programme could be changed to a full-time Ph.D. programme.
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nsukka  
    Admission criteria:
    -Candidates with Bachelor’s degrees from approved university must obtain a minimum of second class lower division with at least a CGPA OF 2.5/5.0
    -All candidates must have five credit passes including English, Mathematics and two relevant science subjects at O’Level preferably Physics and Chemistry or Biology or Geography.
    -Candidates must have Academic Master’s degree in Mathematics in relevant areas with CGPA of 3.5/5.0 and thesis score not lower than 60%.
    -Candidates must demonstrate adequate intellectual capacity, maturity and effective decision making and problem solving potentials.
  • Tai Solarin University of Education Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode  
    Course entry requirements:
    a) Every candidate must have a Master’s degree in his/her area of specialization with a minimum CGPA of 4.0 or 60%.

    b) Holders of M.Phil. Degree in his/her area of specialization.

    c) Those who have CGPA of 3.50 – 3.99 or 55% and above in Master’s degree programme can apply.

    d) Candidates in (c) above will have to go through a conversion process into Ph.D. programme.

    Course duration: 36 months
  • Landmark University Landmark University, Omu Aran  
    Admission criteria:
    Applicants should possess a Master degree relevant to the intended programme. However, such intending candidate should have scored:
    -an average of at least 60% (3.5 CGPA) in his/her Master degree programme.
    -between 55% - 59% to qualify for M.Phil. Ph.D.
    -between 50% - 54% to qualify for M.Phil. Programme.

    Course duration: 6-10 semesters
  • Kwara State University Kwara State University, Malete  
    Course entry requirements:
    Master’s Degree with a minimum Cumulative (Weighted) Average Score of 60%. Such candidates must satisfy the University’s requirements for matriculation.
  • The Federal University of Technology Akure The Federal University of Technology Akure, Akure  
    Dynamics of Structure (Solid
    Numerical Methods in Ordinary
    Differential Equations (ODEs)
    Fluid Mechanics
  • Al-Qalam University Al-Qalam University, Katsina  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Academic Masters in relevant area with CGPA of at least 3.50.

    Mode of study: 3 years
  • Ignatius Ajuru University of Education Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Master’s degree in a very related field with a CGPA of 3.5 and above on a 5.0 scale
  • Lagos State University Lagos State University, Lagos  
    Course entry requirements:
    -M.Sc. in relevant field with a minimum of 4.0 GPA
  • Paul University Paul University, Awka  
    Course Duration: 4 semesters

    Mode of Study: Full time
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University Olabisi Onabanjo University, Iwoye  
    Mode of study: Full Time and Part Time
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano  
  • Osun State University Osun State University, Osogbo  
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka  
  • Nasarawa State University Nasarawa State University, Keffi  
  • Federal University of Technology Owerri Federal University of Technology Owerri, Owerri  
  • Federal University of Technology Minna Federal University of Technology Minna, Minna  
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano  
  • Usmanu Danfodiyo University Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto  
  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun  
  • Cross River University of Technology Cross River University of Technology, Calabar  
  • Benson Idahosa University Benson Idahosa University, Benin City  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria