Colleges and Universities Offering Ph. D in Mechanical Engineering in Nigeria

  • Course Name: Ph. D in Mechanical Engineering(Mechanical Engineering)
  • Major Subject: Mechanical Engineering
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering Ph. D in Mechanical Engineering

  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nsukka  
    Areas of specialization:
    i) Materials Technology and Mechanics,
    ii) Fluid Mechanics and Gas Dynamics,
    iii) Design and Production Technology,
    iv) Industrial Engineering Management

    Admission criteria:
    Candidates who have successfully completed their Master’s programmes (course work requirements and dissertation) in Mechanical Engineering may apply for admission into the PhD Programme. A candidate who has completed the course work requirements for a Master’s in Mechanical Engineering, but who has not completed the thesis requirement,may also apply for admission to the PhD programme. Only students who scored a minimum GPA of 3.50 in their Master’s programmes may be admitted to the PhD

    Course duration:
    i. Full-time: Minimum of six (6) semesters.
    ii. Part-time: Minimum of eight (8) semesters

  • Covenant University Covenant University, Ota  
    Areas of Specialization
    1. Thermo fluid/ Energy System
    2. Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
    3. Industrial and Production Engineering
    4. Mechatronics Engineering

    Course entry requirements:
    -Applicants shall possess the Bachelor and Master’s Degrees of Covenant University or any other University recognized by the Senate of Covenant University in the relevant disciplines. To qualify for direct entry into the Ph.D degree programme, a candidate shall have a minimum CGPA of 4.00 on a 5.00 scale or equivalent (60%) in the Master’s (M.A/M.Sc/M.Eng/M.Tech) degree result.

    Course duration: 3 years

    Mode of study: Full time
  • Lagos State University Lagos State University, Lagos  
    Course entry requirements:
    a. M.Sc. Degree in Mechanical Engineering of Lagos State University or its equivalent from any approved University with a minimum Cumulative Grade Points Average of 4.0 is required to qualify a candidate for admission into the Ph.D Programme.
    b. A Candidate registered for the M.Phil/Ph.D who has scored a minimum Grade Point Average of 3.50 may at the end of the course work transfer to candidature of the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) Degree programme

    Course duration: Minimum of 6 semesters and maximum of 10 semesters.
  • The Federal University of Technology Akure The Federal University of Technology Akure, Akure  
    Course entry requirements:
    (a) A good Masters degree in the appropriate discipline with a CGPA of 3.50 and/or 60% minimum average score.
    (b) Any other qualification approved by Senate.

    Course duration:
    (a) Full-Time candidates may defend their theses between thirty-six (36) and forty eight (48) months.
    (b) Part-Time candidates may defend their theses between forty-eight (48) and sixty (60) months.
  • Landmark University Landmark University, Omu Aran  
    Course entry requirements:
    Applicants should possesses a Master degree relevant to the intended programme. However, such intending candidate should have scored:
    -an average of at least 60% (3.5 CGPA) in his/her Master degree programme.
    -between 55% - 59% to qualify for M.Phil. Ph.D.
    -between 50% - 54% to qualify for M.Phil. Programme

    Course duration: 6-10 semesters
  • Bells University of Technology Bells University of Technology, Ota  
    Course entry requirements:
    -A Master’s degree from Bells University of Technology, or any other approved University in relevant discipline, with a weighted average of 60% and above
    -M.Phil. pass degree from Bells University of Technology, or any other approved University
  • University of Agriculture, Makurdi University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Makurdi  
    Minimum entry requirement:
    A candidate who holds a Master’s degree, with a minimum CGPA of 3.50 on a 5- point scale or an average of 60%, which includes coursework and research thesis in a relevant Engineering discipline, from a recognized university
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka  
    Areas of specialization:
    i.) Mechanical Engineering Design
    ii.) Thermal Engineering
    iii) Materials Technology
    iv) Applied Mechanics.
  • Igbinedion University Igbinedion University, Okada  
  • Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Ihiala  
  • University of Ilorin University of Ilorin, Ilorin  
  • Federal University of Technology Owerri Federal University of Technology Owerri, Owerri  
  • Federal University of Technology Minna Federal University of Technology Minna, Minna  
  • Niger Delta University Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island  
  • Modibbo Adama University of Technology Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola  
  • Afe Babalola University Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti  
  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun  
  • Koladaisi University	 Koladaisi University , Ibadan  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria