Colleges and Universities Offering PhD in Geography in Nigeria

  • Course Name: PhD in Geography(Geography)
  • Major Subject: Geography
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering PhD in Geography

  • Benue State University Benue State University, Makurdi  
    Admission criteria:
    -There are two routes of entry into the doctoral programme in Geography.
    The first requires a minimum of a Masters degree in geography or equivalent from Benue State University or other recognized Universities
    of equivalent status. Candidates who have attained a minimum of a B average in the Masters programme will be admitted.
    Candidates with a Master of Philosophy in Geography from a recognized University will be considered on their own merit.
    -The second route allows exceptional students to enter the PhD programme directly from the Masters programme. Such candidates must have completed all MSc requirements except the thesis, have demonstrated a superior academic record (that is attained an A-average in all their MSc Course work) and have satisfied other conditions (details of which can be obtained from the head of department).
  • Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina Umaru Musa Yar'adua University Katsina, Katsina  
    Course entry requirements:
    (i) Graduates of recognized Universities who have obtained a good Masters Degree appropriate to the proposed areas of study;
    (ii) Graduates of recognized Universities who have obtained Masters of Philosophy degree with considered high CGPA to proceed for PHD in the appropriate field to the proposed areas of study;
    (iii) In addition to (i) – (ii) above, a candidate must possess at least a Bachelors degree in Second Class lower division;
    (iv) Candidates who hold qualifications other than the above, which are acceptable to the Board of Postgraduate School and Senate of the University;
    (v) Candidate must state the proposed area of research and submit a synopsis of not less than 500 words of the proposed topic of research.

    Course duration: 6 to 10 Semesters
  • Tai Solarin University of Education Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode  
    Course entry requirements:
    a) Every candidate must have a Master’s degree in his/her area of specialization with a minimum CGPA of 4.0 or 60%.

    b) Holders of M.Phil. Degree in his/her area of specialization.

    c) Those who have CGPA of 3.50 – 3.99 or 55% and above in Master’s degree programme can apply.

    d) Candidates in (c) above will have to go through a conversion process into Ph.D. programme.

    Course duration: 36 months
  • University of Nigeria, Nsukka University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Nsukka  
    Course entry requirements:
    -Applicants should hold Master’s degree with a minimum CGPA of at least 4.0 on a scale of 5.0 in a relevant area of Geography or the related

    Course duration:
    Full-Time: 3 Calendar years minimum; 5 Calendar years maximum.
    Part-Time: 4 Calendar years minimum; 6 Calendar years maximum.
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University Olabisi Onabanjo University, Iwoye  
    Mode of study: Full Time and Part Time
  • Federal University,Lokoja Federal University,Lokoja, Lokoja  
    Course duration: 3 years
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano  
  • Osun State University Osun State University, Osogbo  
  • Gombe State University Gombe State University, Gombe  
  • Nasarawa State University Nasarawa State University, Keffi  
  • Federal University of Technology Minna Federal University of Technology Minna, Minna  
  • Yusuf Maitama Sule University Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano  
  • Usmanu Danfodiyo University Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto  
  • Kogi State University Kogi State University, Anyigba  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria