Colleges and Universities Offering PhD in Political Science in Nigeria

  • Course Name: PhD in Political Science()
  • Major Subject:
  • Course Category: Doctorate Courses

Institutions Offering PhD in Political Science

  • Babcock University Babcock University, Ilishan Remo  
    Course entry requirements:
    1) An MSc or MA degree in Political Science or cognate disciplines from Babcock University, or from any other institution recognized by the BU Senate, with at least a CGPA of 60% or 4.0 on a 5.0 scale, in order to quality for regular admission to the PhD programme.

    2) Candidates who score between 3.5 and 3.99 on a 5.0 scale or 55-59% at the MSc/MA may be admitted under conditional status to the PhD programme, provided that they successfully complete a minimum of 15 additional credits in Master’s-level coursework in Political Science at Babcock University prior to commencing any coursework in the PhD in Political Science programme.

    3) Candidates whose Masters’ degrees (MSc or MA) are from other disciplines outside Political Science shall be required to complete any courses (including a Master’s thesis) that are lacking in the transcript when compared with the Babcock University MSc Political Science programme. In such cases, the completed Master’s degree and any remedial coursework must attain the required proficiency of 60% for regular admission into the PhD programme.

    4) Professional certificates/degrees or professional experience shall not be considered as relevant for direct admission into the PhD programme. Prospective candidates who are holders of professional degrees shall be required to take remedial credits at the MSc level, based on perceived deficiencies in the transcripts presented. Furthermore, holders of professional degrees who were not required to complete a thesis/project in the course of such prior qualifications will be required to complete a thesis among other requirements before being admitted into the PhD programme.

    5) Candidates admitted conditionally/provisionally into the PhD programme cannot take PhD-level courses until they have satisfied remedial course requirements stipulated for their admission.
  • Tai Solarin University of Education Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode  
    Course entry requirements:
    a) Every candidate must have a Master’s degree in his/her area of specialization with a minimum CGPA of 4.0 or 60%.

    b) Holders of M.Phil. Degree in his/her area of specialization.

    c) Those who have CGPA of 3.50 – 3.99 or 55% and above in Master’s degree programme can apply.

    d) Candidates in (c) above will have to go through a conversion process into Ph.D. programme.

    Course duration: 36 months
  • Benue State University Benue State University, Makurdi  
    Specialization options:
    i) International Relations
    ii) Comparative Politics and Development Studies
    iii) Political Philosophy
    iv) Empirical Political Theory and Methodology
    v) Public Administration and Public Policy
    vi) Political Economy

    Admission criteria:
    -The course is open to all candidates who, in addition to a first degree, hold a Master of Science degree in Political Science.
  • Gregory University Gregory University, Uturu  
  • Afe Babalola University Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti  
  • Edo State University Edo State University, Uzairue  

More Doctorate Courses in Nigeria

View all courses in Nigeria